1776

Wondering if that road goes through the hex or beside it? Post your comments and questions here!

1776

Postby BigRIJoe » Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:49 am

Ken Krutkowski and I are playing a learning game of 1776. If a "5" unit attacks attacks a "1" unit and the result is 1/2 DE and the strength point loss is rounded up, does the unit survive? We're playing the Basic game with the Basic CRT. Ken thinks it does; I don't. If it does survive, and a "1" unit attacks a "3" unit, it would have a 2/3rds chance of surviving.
BigRIJoe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:34 am

Re: 1776

Postby ahikschas » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:58 pm

By the rules as written, I think Ken is right. However, in all the games I ever played, my buddies and I agreed to a "house rule" where the rounding up only occurred when dealing with units with 2 or more CF's. Otherwise the 1/2 DE is meaningless against a 1 CF unit, meaning that it is somehow magically stronger in the same fight as a 2+ unit. However, if you want to justify the opposing point of view, I guess you could say it reflects a unit's "last man defense" mentality. Better yet, just plow through it and get to the advanced rules which are a lot more fun and make for a better game anyway! :P
User avatar
ahikschas
Site Admin
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:43 am

Re: 1776

Postby BigRIJoe » Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:52 am

Interesting. However, if you use that explanation, a 1-7 or a 1-8 attacking a 3-7 or a 3-8 at 1-3 on the Basic CRT have a 2/3rd chance of escaping unscathed and a 1/3 chance of eliminating 1.5 (2?) strength points.I can't buy that
BigRIJoe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:34 am

Re: 1776

Postby ahikschas » Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:50 pm

Yep, doesn't make sense. Thus the house rule we used to use. Again, once you get to the advanced game it's a moot point anyway.
User avatar
ahikschas
Site Admin
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:43 am


Return to Wargame Rules Interpretations

cron