Page 1 of 1

Blown Bridge Movement Cost in Battle of the Bulge 1981

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:57 am
by kbomb
What is the movement cost to enter a blown bridge hex from the adjacent road hex? Is it the road movement rate, even though the unit must then stop in that hex? Or is it the rate associated with the terrain in that hex, as if the road itself was destroyed?

Rule 31.7 seems to support both interpretations, first saying that the hex must be treated as an unbridged river hex, but then acknowledging that the road still runs up to the blown bridge for supply purposes.

Since it is the bridge that was blown, and not the whole 2 miles of road (hex width), my gaming group believes that if a unit enters the blown bridge hex along the road, that the entry is at the road movement rate.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.