Rules Clarifications for SPI's Arnhem Game

Wondering if that road goes through the hex or beside it? Post your comments and questions here!

Rules Clarifications for SPI's Arnhem Game

Postby COLTDAGUY » Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:52 pm

While Arnhen is a really great game and it has been said that every World War II gamer's library should include a copy, there are a few minor problems that have come up over the last 25 or so years that I have been playing it ... Here are a few things that I and a few other gamers have come up with to help clarify the rules a little. I would enjoy hearing from anyone else who has found other glitches with this game and what their solutions were...

Enjoy the day! :-)
Bob

ARNHEM ERRATA
February 15, 2011

[5.24] Clarification ) Armored, Reconnaissance, mechanized, and self-propelled artillery units may never enter a rough, broken or forest woods hex, or pass through a river, canal or stream hexside, except through road or trail hexsides. Ferry hexsides are considered as trail hexsides. If forced to retreat through a non-road, non-trail hexside into a rough, broken or woods hex or across a river, canal or stream hexside, units of the type listed above are eliminated instead.

(COMMENT – Forest changed to “woods” as there is no forest hexes in Arnhem. Canal and Ferry language added to cover these terrain types in Arnhem.)

Optional Rule: RR Bridges are considered to be trail hexsides for the types of units listed above. Specifically, RR Bridges in hexes 2412/2413 and 1206/1307.

[6.33] (Clarification) Zones of control never extend non-bridge river hexsides, and non-artillery units may never attack across non-bridge river hexsides. All zones of control do, however, extend across non-bridged stream, and canal hexsides, and units may attack across them. (Ferry’s hexsides are non-bridge hexsides. Units may not advance or retreat as a result of combat across them.)

[7.42] (Clarification) Defending units do not benefit from Stream, or canal hexsides unless all units attacking that defending unit are attacking across Stream, or canal hexsides.

[7.62] Explanation of Combat Results (Change)

BR = Both the attacking and defending units must retreat one hex. The defender retreats first [Thus, if the defending unit is surrounded by units or Zones of Control, it is eliminated.] The attacking units then retreat. Retreating attacking units may not enter the hex occupied by the defender and they may not end their retreat in a defending unit’s Zone of Control. If forced to do so, they are eliminated instead.

[7.71] (Clarification) In retreating, a unit must initially leave an enemy controlled hex; thereafter it may not enter an Enemy controlled hex. Friendly units do not negate Enemy Zones of Control for purposes of retreat.

[8.41] FINAL PROTECTIVE FIRE (Clarification.)
Rule 8.41 language unchanged. Definitions for “…A successful attack…” and “Adverse results from the previous combat phase” added.

Note: First, an artillery unit about to be attacked or otherwise in enemy ZOC cannot offer FPF regardless.

Definition: “…A successful attack…” in the current combat phase would be:

1) If attacked by a ground unit and forced to retreat. A Br result would
apply in this case.
2) Attacked by barrage and suffering a result as indicated under 8.15 (D2
or better).
3) Displacement during the current combat phase.

Note: Conceivably, an artillery unit that had been attacked but that repulsed
that attack could offer FPF in an enemy attack that would follow,
assuming the phasing player would sequence his attacks in such a way to
permit it.

Definition: ”…Adverse results from the previous combat phase…” would have to mean in the rare case of suffering a Br or Ar result from a forced adjacent attack in its previous combat phase; purely barraging artillery units do not suffer adverse results.

[9.0] Ground Support Points

PROCEDURE: (Clarification)
Ground Support Points may be used during any combat phase, exactly as if they were artillery and can function as Barrage and FPF. The Ground Support Points shown in each scenario allocation are the total points available per phase, NOT per game turn.

Example: A Player has ten Ground Support Points allocated in a given Game-Turn. When he is the phasing player, he may use these ten points as Barrage Strength Points. When he is the non-phasing Player, he may again use these same ten Points as FPF. He has ten points to use as the Phasing Player and another 10 points to use as the non-Phasing Player.


ARNHEN EXCLUSIVE RULES

[11.1] (Clarification) Effects on Combat
Units occupying, entering or retreating into City hexes may reduce all remaining retreat results by up to two hexes. The defender has the choice of reducing results by one or two hexes. Thus a remaining retreat of D1, D2 or BR may at the owning players option, become “no effect”, D1 or D2 results. A1 or A2 may also be reduced by one or two hexes or treated as “no effect” results in the same way by the attacker. All “elimination” results are treated normally. A D3 must result in a retreat of at least one hex., and a D4 must result in a retreat of at least two hexes. In all other ways, units in City hexes are treated as though they were in normal town hexes. (Airborne artillery receive no reduction.)

[11.3] NEGATION OF SPECIAL COMBAT EFFECTS
All units receive the above benefits, except when surrounded (with all six hexes adjacent to the unit occupied by Enemy units or Enemy Zones of Control, or Prohibited terrain hexsides.)

(Example – A Unit in hex 3521, Oosterbeek, would be considered surrounded if Enemy Units or Enemy Zones of Control occupied hexes 3520, 3620, 3621, and 3522 as the Hexsides of hexes 3420 and 3421 were prohibited hexsides.)

When surrounded, only Allied airborne and glider units receive the special benefit. In all cases, attack against units in city hexes are resolved using the “Town” differential Line on the Intergrated Combat Results Table.

[12.0] (CLARIFICATION) Highway Bridges are non-RR bridges over rivers. Canal Bridges are non-RR bridges over canals. (Quad Game Errata from 19 Sept. 76, Moves Magazine #29)

[13.21] Assisting in River Crossing and Assault. (Clarification)
When during any Allied Movement Phase, the Engineer unit is adjacent to any River hexside the Allied Player may use it to allow airborne and glider units to cross the River in that or subsequent Movement Phases. This is done provided the Engineer expends no additional Movement Points during the Allied Player turn, and is free of Enemy Zones of Control. The Engineer unit may move up to its full movement allowance prior to the River crossing but may move no further once a River crossing is made. Only one River crossing per movement phase may be made by the Engineer unit.

[17.34] Lines of Communication may never be traced through unbridged River or Stream, or canal hexsides. Bridges that have not yet been subject to a demolition attempt by the German player can be used to trace a line of communication.

[18.16] ALLIED GROUND SUPPORT POINTS (Clarification)

Game-Turn One: none.
Game-Turn Two: three per phase.
Game-Turn Three: seven per phase.
Game-Turn Four: three per phase.
Game-Turn Five: three per phase.
Game-Turn Six: none.
Game-Turn Seven: three per phase.
Game-Turn Eight, Nine, and Ten: none.

[18.22] (ADDITION) The German BrDf (2-2-7) MUST be placed in hex 2621. (Quad Game Errata from 19 Sept. 76, Moves Magazine #29)

Map (Clarification) Hexside 2120-2121 is a canal bridge for all purposes. (Quad Game Errata from 19 Sept. 76, Moves Magazine #29)

MAP (ClARIFICATION) The stream hexsides shown between 0105/0205 and 0210/0310 are considered to be canal hexsides for all game purposes including bridge demolition.


TERRAIN EFFECTS KEY (Clarification) Definitions for Stream and canal hexsides are the same in the game. Any rule referring to a stream hexside applies for a canal hexside.
Bob Best #552
User avatar
COLTDAGUY
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:50 pm

Return to Wargame Rules Interpretations

cron